FACULTY & STAFF2022-07-07T14:56:33-07:00

Faculty and Staff

It is the goal of a Waldorf teacher to cultivate a sense of wonder and to inspire children to view the world, even in its most basic form, as magnificent—prompting each student to embrace life with enthusiasm, initiative, and purpose. These aims are met through an education that is rich with meaningful sense experiences, classical academics, and artistic beauty in all subject matters.

About us & Waldorf education

Faculty and Staff

It is the goal of a Waldorf teacher to cultivate a sense of wonder and to inspire children to view the world, even in its most basic form, as magnificent—prompting each student to embrace life with enthusiasm, initiative, and purpose. These aims are met through an education that is rich with meaningful sense experiences, classical academics, and artistic beauty in all subject matters.

About us & Waldorf education
Red Door Store Manager2022-07-29T13:15:19-07:00

Ella Pedersen – Red Door Store Manager (reddoor@vws.ca)

Maintenance2022-07-29T13:15:59-07:00

Nihat Tetiker – Maintenance (maintenance@vws.ca)

Librarian2022-07-29T13:18:28-07:00

Christiane Rolland – Librarian (library@vws.ca)

Bus Driver2022-07-29T13:17:10-07:00

Laszlo Budai – Primary Bus Driver (bus@vws.ca)
Alfie Mak – Back up Bus Driver

Class Teachers2022-07-29T12:18:21-07:00

Grade One – Simon Briault (sbriault@vws.ca)
Grade Two – Samantha Mansfield (smansfield@vws.ca)
Grade Three – Chris Henley (chenley@vws.ca)
Grade Four – Leila Alemi (lalemi@vws.ca)
Grade Five – Fia Dionne (fdionne@vws.ca)
Grade Six – Beni Johnston (bjohnston@vws.ca)
Grade Seven – Lori Johnston (ljohnston@vws.ca)
Grade Eight – Raja Chrimes (rchrimes@vws.ca)

Advisors2022-08-05T19:33:31-07:00

Grade Nine Co-Advisors – Dr. Wendy Young & Tba
Grade Ten Co-Advisors – Dr. Wendy Young & Gwen Elliott
Grade Eleven Co-Advisors – Nicole Combe, Sylvain Munier
Grade Twelve Co-Advisors – Gwen Elliott, Leisha O’Donohue (maternity leave returning mid-Ocotober)

High School Counsellor2022-07-29T13:28:10-07:00

Fiona Thatcher – High School Counsellor

Education Assistants2022-07-29T13:24:02-07:00

Jennifer Andrews – Grade Two EA
Jessica Chou – Grade Two EA
Marla Evans – Grade One EA
Kristen Lonne – Grade Four EA
Melissa Matthew – Grade Five EA
Sandra Valle – Grade Three EA

English Language Learning (ELL)2022-07-29T13:24:31-07:00

Anika Chen – ELL (achen@vws.ca)

Learning Support Teachers2022-07-29T13:25:26-07:00

Cary Stewart – Kindergarten, Grade School (cstewart@vws.ca)
Christina Price – Grade School (cprice@vws.ca)

Care Group Coordinator2022-07-29T13:25:57-07:00

Anika Chen – Care Group Coordinator (achen@vws.ca)

Humanities2022-07-29T13:35:23-07:00

Gwen Elliott – Humanities (gelliott@vws.ca)
Sylvain Munier – Humanities (smunier@vws.ca)
Leisha O’Donohue (maternity) – Humanities
Greg Scott – Humanities (gscott@vws.ca)

Math & Science2022-07-29T13:33:20-07:00

Nicole Combe – (ncombe@vws.ca)
Dr. Wendy Young – (wyoung@vws.ca)

French2022-07-29T13:32:12-07:00

Sylvain Munier – French Teacher (smunier@vws.ca)

Technology2022-07-29T13:31:59-07:00

Sylvain Munier – Technology Teacher (smunier@vws.ca)

Arts & Crafts2022-07-29T13:30:59-07:00

Leisha O’Donohue (maternity leave) – Fine Arts & Crafts
Greg Scott – Practical Arts (gscott@vws.ca)

Music2022-07-29T13:29:48-07:00

Bart Stryckers – Choir (bstryckers@vws.ca)
David Szigeti – Ensemble (dszigeti@vws.ca)

French2022-07-29T12:23:41-07:00

Kasra Oghalaie – French Teacher, Grade One-Six (koghalaie@vws.ca)
Sylvain Munier – French Teacher, Grade Seven-Twelve (smunier@vws.ca)

Arts & Crafts2022-06-21T12:28:33-07:00

Bettina Hillaby – Handwork Assistant
Michele McCormick – Handwork 1-6
Leisha O’Donohue (maternity leave) – Handwork 7-8
Greg Scott – Practical Arts 5-8

Music2022-07-29T12:30:00-07:00

Irina Shcherbakova – Flute Ensemble ( ishcherbakov@vws.ca)
Evgeny Shcherbakov – Prof (eshcherbakov@vws.ca)
Bart Stryckers – Violin, Strings Ensemble (bstryckers@vws.ca)
David Szigeti – Cello, String Ensemble (dszigeti@vws.ca)

Movement2022-07-29T12:33:25-07:00

Lily McKenzie – Physical Education (lmckenzie@vws.ca)
Lani Townsend-Steed – Folk Dance (ltownsend-steed@vws.ca)

After School Program2022-07-29T13:17:38-07:00

Susana Caballero – Program Leader (scaballero@vws.ca)
Wei Liu – Program Coordinator (wliu@vws.ca)

Parent & Tot2022-07-29T12:05:39-07:00

Ella Pedersen – Parent & Tot (epedersen@vws.ca)
Blanka Ponec – Parent & Tot (bponec@vws.ca)

Dandelion & Mulberry Preschool2022-07-29T12:09:47-07:00

Jackie Burbidge – Preschool Teacher (jburbidge@vws.ca)
Susanne Schonthaler – Preschool Teacher (sschonthaler@vws.ca)
Jessica Chou – Preschool Aftercare Teacher

Sunflower Preschool2022-07-29T12:10:07-07:00

Blanka Ponec – Preschool Teacher (bponec@vws.ca)

Plum Cottage Kindergarten2022-07-29T12:13:00-07:00

Peggy Tan – Kindergarten Teacher (ptan@vws.ca)
Helga Strand-Nikoui – Kindergarten Assistant (hstrand@vws.ca)
Nazli Khalkhali – Kindergarten Aftercare Teacher (nkhalkhali@vws.ca)

Red Rose Kindergarten2022-07-29T12:14:37-07:00

Afra Zhang – Kindergarten Teacher (azhang@vws.ca)
Susana Caballero – Kindergarten Assistant, Aftercare Teacher (scaballero@vws.ca)

Reception2022-07-29T11:53:13-07:00

Ronaye Ireland – Grade School Reception (rireland@vws.ca)
Sarah Vondruska – High School Office Coordinator (svondruska@vws.ca)

Principal2022-07-29T11:57:32-07:00

Lorna Fortin – Principal (lfortin@vws.ca)
Susan Connon-Wilby – Acting Vice-Principal K-8 (sconnonwilby@vws.ca)
Sarah Vondruska – Acting Vice-Principal 9-12 (svondruska@vws.ca)

Admissions2022-07-29T11:59:08-07:00

Carman Ho – Admissions Coordinator (cho@vws.ca)

Communications2022-07-29T11:59:36-07:00

Laura Bergstrome – Communications & Events Coordinator (lbergstrome@vws.ca)

Finance Office2022-07-29T12:00:12-07:00

Huy Pham – Finance Manager (hpham@vws.ca)
Wei Liu – Bookkeeper (wliu@vws.ca)

Management2022-07-29T12:03:12-07:00

Susan Connon-Wilby – Business Manager (sconnonwilby@vws.ca)
Mary Henley – Community Resource & Development Manager (mhenley@vws.ca)
Flora McEachern – Pedagogical Manager (fmceachern@vws.ca)
Peggy Tan – Early Childhood Centre Manager (ptan@vws.ca)

Faculty and Staff Photos

Leila Alemi
Leila Alemi
Jennifer Andrews
Jennifer Andrews
Laura Bergstrome
Laura Bergstrome
Simon Briault
Simon Briault
Laszlo Budai
Laszlo Budai
Jackie Burbidge
Jackie Burbidge
Susana Caballero
Susana Caballero
Anika Chen
Anika Chen
Raja Chrimes
Raja Chrimes
Nicole Combe
Nicole Combe
Susan Connon-Wilby
Susan Connon-Wilby
Marlies De Ceuster
Marlies De Ceuster
Susan De Jongh
Susan De Jongh
Fia Dionne
Fia Dionne
Gwen Elliott
Gwen Elliott
Lorna Fortin
Lorna Fortin
Chris Henley
Chris Henley
Mary Henley
Mary Henley
Bettina Hillaby
Bettina Hillaby
Carman Ho
Carman Ho
Ronaye Ireland
Ronaye Ireland
Beni Johnston
Beni Johnston
Lori Johnston
Lori Johnston
Nazli Khalkhali
Nazli Khalkhali
Wei Liu
Wei Liu
Samantha Mansfield
Samantha Mansfield
Melissa Matthew
Melissa Matthew
Michele McCormick
Michele McCormick
Leisha O’Donohue
Leisha O’Donohue
Ella Pedersen
Ella Pedersen
Huy Pham
Huy Pham
Blanka Ponec
Blanka Ponec
Christina Price
Christina Price
Greg Scott
Greg Scott
Prof Evgeny Shcherbakov
Prof Evgeny Shcherbakov
Irina Shcherbakova
Irina Shcherbakova
Cary Stewart
Cary Stewart
Helga Strand-Nikoui
Helga Strand-Nikoui
Bart Stryckers
Bart Stryckers
David Szigeti
David Szigeti
Peggy Tan
Peggy Tan
Fiona Thatcher
Fiona Thatcher
Lani Townsend-Steed
Lani Townsend-Steed
Sandra Valle
Sandra Valle
Sarah Vondruska
Sarah Vondruska
Dr. Wendy Young
Dr. Wendy Young

“What is needed is that teachers transform their knowledge of the human being into a kind of higher instinct which enables them to respond rightly to whatever comes from each individual child.” ~ Rudolf Steiner

Schedule A Tour

Title

Accepting applications for 2022-2023 school year

We have a rolling admissions policy and accept students throughout the year when space is available. Join an information session or meet individually with our Admissions Coordinator (admissions@vws.ca) to learn more about the Vancouver Waldorf School.
Visit our Admissions Process page to learn more.

Go to Top